Top 10 Tuesday – Books I bought/borrowed because…

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish in June of 2010 and was moved to That Artsy Reader Girl in January of 2018. It was born of a love of lists, a love of books, and a desire to bring bookish friends together.

I didn’t know what to do for this one as I’ve not been buying books recently and I always put my reasoning behind my Top 10 lists as well as monthly summaries. So this week I’ve outsourced my top 10 list to my book seller sister to explain why she’s requested 10 proofs from publishers.

She’s @red.head.read on insta


  1. Foul is Fair – Hannah Capin
    foul is fairI am always a sucker for a retelling. Just when you’ve read the same story a thousand ways there is always a thousand and one. Macbeth as bitchy highschools? Yes please! t’s also a great recommendation for grandparents who don’t want to get their teen grandkids a romance novel. (A request I get surprisingly often)


  2. The Beauty of the Wolf – Wray Delany
    Helen - beauty of the wolfAnother retelling! I love all things fairy tale, as can be seen through my Master degree in Children’s Lit. This retelling of Beauty and the Beast looked too comforting and right up my alley to pass up


  3. The Starless Sea – Erin Morgenstern
    helen - starless seaWith my love of fairy tales comes a love of magical realism in adult fiction. The Night Circus is the genre at it’s best so when presented with a chance of a free edition of Morgenstern’s much anticipated 2nd book I couldn’t resist
    Rea’s Note: I didn’t like ‘Night Circus’ but I loved ‘The Starless Sea’ when I read it last month


  4. I, Cosmo – Carlie Sorosiak
    cover - I, CosmoI read the staff copy of this as a previous ‘Waterstones Book of the Month’ and prompt kept it in pride of place on the bookshelf. It’s a family drama told from the POV of their gorgeous old golden retriever who just wants to learn to dance. I loved being able to spend a month championing Cosmo and haven’t stopped since.
    Rea’s note: She got me to read this one too and it’s adorable.


  5. Havenfall – Sara Holland
    helen - havenfallI requested this proof because it has potential to be huge in YA fiction. From the author of the very popular Everless duology comes a new fantasy series who world converge. I’m already excited for the sequels – Havenfall is primed and ready to be the new Hogwarts. Plus the LGBT+ representation is brilliant.
    Rea’s note: I’m just about to start reading this one for my Transfiguration OWL (Shapeshifters).


  6. Such a fun age – Kiley Reid
    spring - such a fun ageI was sold on the publisher’s marketing note on this book – a black woman is accused of kidnapping the white child she’s actually babysitting. Everything about this novel feels very current and important – it’s perfect for a book club. While ‘The Help’ was written from a white view point Reid’s debut speaks to her own truth on what it’s like to be a black woman in 21st Century America.
    Rea’s note: I’m going to be reading this while for my Arithmancy OWL (outside your normal genre). She’s been talking about this one a lot so I’m looking forward to it


  7. Everything that makes us human – Jay Jayamohan
    helen - everything that makes us humanWith the undeniable success of ‘This is going to hurt’ there’s a huge market out right now for medical memoirs. This book is the first non-fic on my list and looks inside the life of a paediatric brain surgeon. Harrowing but so important


  8. Amnesty – Aravind Adiga
    helen - amnestyI was intrigued by the premise of this novel. An undocumented immigrant cleaner in Australia find a client murder and he suspects another client as the killer. Coming forward risks his status in the country. Told over the course of 24 hours. Yes and YAAS


  9. The Intoxicating Mr Lavelle – Nat Blackmore
    helen - the intoxicating mr lavelleAn indulgent historical fiction romance with the love interest that gives zero fucks. Giving no fucks is literally his catchphrase. It’s also very, very gay. Big recommend


  10. The Tao of Pooh and the Te of Piglet – Benjamin Hoff
    helen - the tao of poohAnother non-fiction title but a very different vibe. I requested this as a way to ease myself into reading non-fic and self help through the love of my beloved Pooh Bear. I thought it might be helpful for my university course, I didn’t expect to feel so enriched and peaceful as I did reading it. #BeMorePooh


    A big shout out to my amazing sister for letter me outsource this week’s TTT to her. Also for the fact there are some days where she literally comes in and throws books at me.
    She asks for a lot expecting to get not much and then suddenly we have a massive range of books in styles and genres that all look interesting in different ways. It’s mad but it does mean we aren’t going to run out of things to read while I’m on lock down for the next 3 months.

2 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday – Books I bought/borrowed because…

Leave a comment